Guide To Types Of Tequila


Tequila is a drink that is produced only in Mexico by sticking on to some of the strictest regulations. For a liquid to be regarded as tequila, it has to be necessarily produced in areas surrounding the city of Tequila, and the area includes five Mexican states, Guanajuato, Jaisco, Nayarit, Michoacan and Tamaulipas.

Tequila is exclusively produced from blue agave plants that take about 6 to 12 years to mature. The cultivation process of agave takes more time than the ageing process of tequila.

Basic Categories Of Tequila

  • 100% Tequila

It has no sugars other than the agave plant sugars.

  • Mixto

Mixto has not less than 51% agave sugar, and other sugars include glucose and fructose.

Types Of Tequila

There are five different types of tequila.

Añejo Tequila

In Spanish, añejo means “old” and the name suits the tequila well, as it is aged at least one year and not more than 3 years inside oak barrels. According to the specifications of the Mexican government, tequila has to rest in oak barrels alone that have maximum capacity of 600 liters. When compared with reposado, Añejo has a darker color tone and has more complex and rich flavor. To get the best out of Añejo drink, choose codigo 1530 anejo  tequila. Añejo tequila, the amber colored spirit is called vintage tequila and is commonly considered as sipping tequila.

Extra Añejo Tequila

It came to be recognized only after 2006, with ultra-aging being its peculiarity. The distilling and aging process of extra añejo tequila is same as that of añejo tequila but the aging period exceeds the three year limit. The lengthy aging process increases the price of the tequila but it is the smoothest among all types as well.

Blanco Tequila

Blanco tequila is clear white spirit and is also known as “plata tequila” or “silver tequila”. The tequila doesn’t undergo the ageing process, and instead is directly packed into bottles after the distillation process is over. Blanco tequila is the purest form of tequila, as it is not aged in barrels and hence retains the natural flavors of blue agave. To get the most genuine sweetness of blue agave, you must try Blanco tequila before anything.

Reposado Tequila

Reposado tequila is known as rested or aged tequila and according to the regulation set forth by the Mexican government; the tequila is aged in oak barrels for at least 2 months and not more than a year. The spirit with an appealing golden color is aged inside French oak or white oak barrels inside which the flavor of tequila is formed.

Joven Tequila

Joven means young in Spanish. The presence of flavoring agents like glycerin, sugar, oak tree extracts and caramel coloring gives a brilliant golden color to the spirit. It is generally mixto tequila that is best served with drinks like margaritas.

The controlled manufacturing methods of the drink and the cultivation process of its source, blue agave that requires patience and expertise contributes to the quality of the drink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *